Under primary enforcement laws, texting is banned for all drivers in Kansas. Cell phone use is prohibited for all driver’s with a learner’s permit or intermediate license.
Children aged 3 and younger are to be secured in a child safety seat; children aged 4 to 7 weighing less than 80 pounds and standing under 57 inches tall should be in a safety seat or booster seat. Children aged 8 and up and who weigh more than 80 pounds can use adult safety belts. The maximum fine for failing to use child restraints is $60.
The use or possession of marijuana is illegal in Kansas, though the state does not have specific impaired driving laws regarding the use of this drug.
Drunk drivers can expect to have their license suspended for 30 days for a first offense, and ignition interlock devices are mandatory for all offenders. Penalties are enhanced for drivers with a BAC of .15 or higher.
New drivers must complete a three-phase licensing system that begins at age 14 and ends at age 16-and-a-half with the driver receiving full road privileges.
Motorcycle riders under the age of 18 must wear a DOT approved helmet every time they ride.
The standard license renewal cycle is six years. However, mature drivers aged 65 or older must renew every four years.
Under primary enforcement laws, all vehicle occupants between the ages of 14 and 17 must wear their seatbelts in the front and rear seats. Passengers aged 18 years or older must wear a seatbelt when riding in the front seat. The fines for failing to wear seatbelts is $60 and $10 respectively.
Sobriety checkpoints are conducted across the state up to two times per month.
Workers do not have to be present in a work zone for all the penalties for all moving violations to be enhanced to double the original fine.