Texting is banned for all drivers under primary enforcement rules.
Children younger than four must be secured in a child restraint system, and those aged four to six years who are under 65 pounds or stand less than 57 inches tall must be in a booster seat. A child under age seven may use adult seatbelts if they are over 57 inches and 65 pounds.
Marijuana possession and use have been decriminalized by the state.
Driving drivers will lose their license for 90 days, and their vehicle will be impounded or confiscated for a first offense. Ignition interlock devices are mandatory for all.
Teens can apply for their learner’s permit at age 15, their intermediate license at age 16 and can get an unrestricted license at age 16 years and six months.
Mississippi requires all motorcycle riders to wear a helmet.
Mature drivers have a choice of renewing their license every four or eight years.
Seat belts are mandatory for children aged seven or younger who are in the front seat.
Mississippi conducts sobriety checkpoints on a weekly basis throughout the year.
The fine for speeding in a work zone with workers and signs present is up to $250 for a first offense.