New drivers holding a restricted license or a learner’s permit are banned from using hand-held cell phones while behind the wheel. Hands-free phones are also not allowed if you are within your first year of being licensed or you are under 18. These are both primary enforcement laws.
The rules for child safety seats are-
- Children less than one year or 20 pounds are to be in rear-facing safety seats
- Children between the ages of 1 and 3 who weigh 20 to 39 pounds are to be in forward-facing car seats
- Children weighing 40 to 60 pounds and are between 4 and 5 years old, are to be in booster seats
- Adult safety belts can be worn by children between the ages of 6 and 12
- The maximum fine for a first offense is $100
Louisiana does not have specific marijuana-impaired driving laws, though the drug is illegal to use or possess.
Your vehicle will be seized, and ignition interlock devices are mandatory for a first drunk driving offense. A second conviction will suspend your license for 45 days.
The state uses a three-stage system for new drivers that begins at age 15 and ends with full privileges at age 17.
All bicyclists under the age of 12 must wear a helmet.
Mature drivers must renew their license every four years. Those aged 70 and above are not able to renew by mail.
All passengers under age 13 must wear their seatbelt in front and rear seats.
Louisiana conducts sobriety checkpoints.
If you speed in a work zone while workers are present, the penalty will be double the original fine.