Under primary enforcement laws, hand-held cell phone use is banned for all New York drivers, as is texting.
Child safety laws require child weighing under 40 pounds and age three years or less be secured in an approved safety restraint system. Children aged 8 to 15 who weigh over 40 pounds can use an adult safety belt if they fit correctly. The maximum fine for a first offense is $100 plus points on your record.
Ignition interlock devices are mandatory for all drunk driving offenses as is a license suspension. Penalties are enhanced for drivers with a blood alcohol concentration of .18 or higher.
At age 16, teens can apply for their learner’s permit, and their intermediate license when they are 16-and-a-half. Full privileges are available when the new driver turns 17 if they had driver’s education or age 18 if they did not.
All motorcycle riders are required to wear helmets. Bicyclists under age 14 must wear head protection also.
Mature drivers must renew their license every eight years.
Under primary enforcement laws, all vehicle occupants under age 16 must wear their seatbelt in front, and rear seats and all front seat passengers of any age must wear theirs. The maximum fine for a first offense is $50.
New York law enforcement conducts sobriety checkpoints every week across the state.
Speed cameras are used in school zones where the penalty is $50. Red light cameras are used in some cities, and also carry a penalty of $50.
Speeding in work zone, even if workers are not present, carries an enhanced penalty of up to $600, or 30-days in jail, or both.