While Pennsylvania does not have an aggressive driving law, the state is working on measures to promote and enforce safe driving practices.
Under primary enforcement, text messaging is banned for all drivers.
Child safety laws require that children less than age two are secured in a rear-facing child seat, and children less than seven are to be secured in a booster seat or car seat. The fine for failing to do so is $75.
Marijuana is illegal to use or possess in Pennsylvania, and those drivers with 1ng of THC in their system may be charged with impaired driving.
At age 16, teens can start the Graduated Driver’s License program, and can earn full privileges at age 17 if they completed driver’s ed and had driven a year with no crashes or convictions. Those who do not complete driver’s ed can earn full privileges by age 18.
All motorcycle riders under age 21 must wear a helmet, as must those who have been licensed less than two years, unless they have completed an approved motorcycle safety course.
Under primary and secondary enforcement laws, vehicle passengers between 8 and 17 years must be restrained when in the front seat, and all passengers under 18 must be restrained in all seats. The fine for a first offense is $10.
Law enforcement conducts several hundred sobriety checkpoints around the state each year.
Red light cameras may be in use in Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and municipalities with a population of 20,000. The penalty for camera-caught red light violations if $100.
The penalties for traffic violations occurring in work zones with workers and signs present are double the original fine.