Novice drivers aged 16, or drivers aged 17 who’ve had their Intermedia License for less than six months are banned from making cell phone calls in Alabama. Text messaging is banned for all drivers.
The state requires that children under the age of one or who weigh less than 20 pounds be secured in rear-facing infant seats. Children aged 1 to four and weighing between 20 and 40 pounds are to be secured in a forward-facing child seat, and those who are aged 5 are to be a booster seat. Children aged 6 and older are allowed to use an adult seat belt. A first-time offense carries the penalty of $25.00 plus points.
Alabama has zero tolerance for drug-impaired driving, and though the state has yet to define specific laws for marijuana-impaired driving, the drug is illegal to possess or use.
Drunk drivers will lose their license for 90 days for a first offense and repeat offenders must have ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles. Increased penalties are imposed for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .15.
Teens must be 15-years old to get their learner’s permit, which they must have a minimum of 6 months and acquire 30-hours of supervising driving. Upon reaching age 16, novice drivers are restricted from driving between the hours of midnight and six a.m., and can have no more than one passenger. Drivers receive full privileges at age 17.
All motorcyclists must wear a helmet, as must bicyclists under the age of 16.
Mature drivers are required to renew their licenses every four years.
Any person aged 15 and over must wear a seat belt when in the front seat or suffer a $25.00 fine for a first offense.
Alabama conducts sobriety checkpoints throughout the year.
The maximum speed limit on rural interstates is 70 mph for passenger cars and 65 mph for trucks. The maximum urban interstate speed for cars and trucks is 60 mph.
Montgomery County, Alabama uses speed and red light cameras. Two images are taken of the speeding vehicle and the owner of the vehicle is issued a citation and penalized $110.00.
When workers and work signs are present in a work zone speeding drivers are penalized double the original (non-work zone) fine.