Text messaging and cell phone use are banned for all drivers.
Child safety laws require that children weighing less than 20 pounds be secured in rear-facing child seats. Children up to age four must be in a child safety seat, and children less than 64 pounds must be secured in a booster seat. Children over the age of 4, weighing more than 65 pounds and who are taller than 57 inches can use adult seat belts. Children up to age 16 are required to wear seat belts. Penalties for a first offense include a $50 fine plus points on your driving record.
Alaska has zero tolerance for drugged-driving, though possession and use of marijuana has been decriminalized and is legal for medicinal and recreational use.
Drunk-driving laws require a 90-day license suspension for a first offense. Your vehicle will be impounded and the law makes ignition interlock devices mandatory.
New drivers must complete the Graduated Driver Licensing system before earning an unrestricted license. You must be 14 years old to test for a driving permit, and you must hold it for at least six months, during which time you must acquire 40 hours of supervising driving experience and 10 of those hours must be at night. At age 16, and after passing the road test, you can drive unsupervised, but you are restricted from having any passengers under the age of 21 (unless they are a family member) and are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. After six months, if you have not been convicted of any traffic violations, you are eligible for full driving privileges.
Motorcycle riders under the age of 18 or who have an instructional permit, as well as all passengers, must wear helmets.
Mature drivers must renew their license every five years, and those who are 69 or older are not able to renew by mail.
Any person aged 16 or over must wear their seat belt whether they are on the front or rear seats. The minimum fine for a first offense is $15.00.
Alaska does not conduct sobriety checkpoints.
The maximum speed limit on all roads and rural and urban interstates is 55 mph.
The state does not use speed and red light cameras.
All work zone violations are punished at double the original fine whether workers and signs are present or not.