Alabama Graduated Driving Laws
For most teens, getting a driver’s license is the first step in gaining freedom and becoming an adult. However, in an effort to give young drivers time to gain more experience before heading out on their own, teens are required to complete a graduated licensing system in Alabama before they receive full driving privileges.
First Stage – Learner’s Permit
You have to be at least 15 years old to take the test for your driving permit. Once you have the permit, you can either take a driver’s education course or acquire 50 hours of supervised driving experience with a licensed parent or guardian. You must have the permit for six months before you are eligible for an intermediate license. During this six months, you are only allowed to have your supervising licensed adult as a passenger.
Second Stage – Intermediate License
After fulfilling the six-month, 50-hour driving requirements, you are eligible to take the road test. However, if you have earned a road test certificate from your Driver Education instructor, you do not have to take it again.
While you are in this second stage, you can only have one passenger in your vehicle unless they are family members or licensed drivers over the age of 21. You are not to drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m.
Third Stage – Driver’s License
At age 17, if you have six months of driving experience and you have no violations on your record, you become eligible for an unrestricted license. Be aware: texting is banned for all licensed drivers.