Arizona Graduated Driving License Laws
Of the 1,021 drivers who were involved in fatal traffic accidents in 2014, at least 86 were young drivers under the age of 21. Sadly, one driver was under the age of 15. In an effort to increase roadway safety, Arizona implemented a three-stage driver’s licensing system.
At age 15 years and six months, you are eligible for a learner’s permit. The permit must be held for at least 180 days, during which time you must accumulate at least 30 hours of supervised driving instruction, and 10 of those hours must be at night. Anytime you are on the road, you must be accompanied by an adult over the age of 21 and who has a driver’s license.
At age 16, if you have the required driving experience, you can take the road test. During this phase, you are not allowed to drive unsupervised between midnight and five a.m., unless you are going to or from school, work, or religious activity.
For the first 180 days of this second stage, you also can not transport more than one passenger unless they are over the age of 18 or your licensed parent is supervising.
At age 16 and six months, after having your intermediate license for at least six months, you are eligible for an unrestricted license with full privileges.