Colorado Graduated Driver’s License Laws

Colorado Graduated Driver’s License Laws

In 2014, about 74 novice drivers under the age of 21 were involved in fatal accidents. To help improve these statistics, the state started a Graduated Driver’s License program that allows new driver’s more time to gain driving experience before heading out on their own. Teens are eligible to start the program at age 15 and earn a non-restricted license at age 17.

Phase 1

You can get your learner’s permit at-

  • 15 years if you have taken driver’s education
  • 15 years and six months if you have taken a driver awareness program
  • 16 years without a driver’s training program

You will use the permit for a full year before you can take the road test. During this year, you must get at least 50 hours of driving experience while being supervised by a licensed parent or guardian. At least 10 hours of driving experienced must be gained at night.

Phase 2

You can take your driving test for an intermediate, (restricted) license after you have completed the requirements of the first phase. Though you can drive unsupervised during this phase, you are not permitted to drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. and you are prohibited from carrying any passengers for the first 180 days and can only have one passenger for the second 180 days.

At age 17, your license will be unrestricted, and you will have full driving privileges.

It is important to note that texting is banned for all drivers, and cell phone use is prohibited for all drivers under the age of 18.

WordPress Lightbox Plugin