Connecticut Accident Guide

Connecticut Accident Guide

Thousands of people are injured or killed in motor vehicle accidents each year throughout Connecticut. In 2014, the Department of Transportation reported 96,574 crashes that resulted in 31,842 injuries and 248 deaths. If you are injured in a traffic accident, it is important that you understand your legal rights and responsibilities regarding filing an accident report and an injury claim.

What Is the Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents in Connecticut?

If you are injured in a motor vehicle accident in Connecticut, you have only two years to file a lawsuit. Connecticut does not have some of the exceptions to this rule as other states do. Read More

What Are the State Minimum Auto and Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in Connecticut?

Drivers in Connecticut are required to carry minimum insurance coverage. For bodily injury, the minimum is $20,000 for one person and $40,000 per accident. Property damage coverage of $10,000 is also required. In addition to liability insurance, drivers must purchase $20,000 in uninsured and underinsured coverage for one person and $40,000 per incident. Read More

What Are the Comparative Negligence Laws for Connecticut?

Connecticut operates under a modified comparative negligence standard. If you are 51 percent or more at fault for the collision, you cannot recover compensation from the other driver. If you are partially at fault, your compensation can be reduced by your percentage of fault. Read More

Does Connecticut Recognize The “Safety Belt Defense” In A Car Accident Case?

While the state does have a seat belt law, defendants in laws suits are prohibited from using this as a defense in a car accident case. Your failure to wear your seatbelt cannot decrease your compensation. Read More

What Are the Laws in Connecticut Regarding Passengers Riding in Vehicle Cargo Areas?

Connecticut law prohibits minors under the age of 16 years from riding in the cargo of a vehicle. There are some limited exceptions to this general rule. Read More

Can Accident Victims File Injury Claims Against the Government for Motor Vehicle Accidents Caused by Road Hazards in Connecticut?

Connecticut’s Highway Construction and Maintenance statute makes it possible to sue the state for defective road conditions that cause accidents. However, you must file your claim within 90 days. Claims filed against local municipalities have the same rules. Read More

Can Bicyclists Bring Claims Against the Government for Poor Road Conditions or Road Hazards Leading to A Bike Crash Injury in Connecticut?

Bicyclists have the same rights as motor vehicle operators to file a claim against a government entity for damages in a road hazard accident. Likewise, bicyclists must follow the same rules and laws for filing these lawsuits. Read More

How Do I File a Collision Report in Connecticut?

Connecticut law requires that you report motor vehicle crashes that result in property damage of $1,000 or more within five days of the collision. If you did not notify the police at the time of the crash, you must contact the local agency that has jurisdiction in that area or call the state police. Read More

How Do I Obtain Copy of The Collision Report for My Connecticut Car Accident?

Connecticut participates in an online database for crash reports. You can obtain a copy the report for a small fee by accessing the online database. You can also request a copy of the report from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Read More

Does Connecticut Have Mature Driving Laws?

The state does not have specific laws restricting the driving privileges of mature drivers. However, in certain cases, a person’s driving privileges may revoke or restricted based on physical or mental conditions. Read More

Does Connecticut have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, Connecticut uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is a three-stage system that in some states begins at age 15 and ends 12 to 24 months later with full driving privileges. Read More

Does Connecticut have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top laws that you need to know if you are driving in our state, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin