Delaware Graduated Driver’s License System
Delaware has been working to lower the accident rate for new drivers by implementing recommended highway safety laws that include primary enforcement seat belt laws, prohibited text messaging, tougher drunk driving penalties, and a licensing system that gives new drivers a little more time to gain experience before they can drive with passengers or during the night.
The Graduated Driver’s Licensing system requires that all new drivers under the age of 18 take a driver’s education class and pass a written exam and a road test before getting their learner’s permit. The permit is required for six months during which time you are to get at least 40 hours of daytime driving and 10 hours of night-time driving experience. While you are at this stage, you have to have a licensed driver over the age of 25 with you, and no more than one additional passenger unless they are immediate family members.
After 180 days and completing your drive time requirements, you can get a restricted license that allows you to drive unsupervised. While you are at this intermediate stage, you are not to drive between the hours of the 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. unless you have to because of work, school, or church, and you are not to have more than one passenger in your vehicle unless they are immediate family members.
At age 17, after having your restricted license for six months, you may apply for your full driving privileges.
Keep in mind that Delaware prohibits the use of cell phones (hand-held and hands-free phones) for all drivers who are under the age of 18. Texting while driving is banned for all drivers.