Florida Accident Guide

Florida Accident Guide

During 2015, Florida law enforcement reported 374,342 traffic related crashes, an 8.77 percent increase from 2014. On any given day, an average of 1,025 traffic accidents occurs within the state. That year, just under 3,000 people died and over 243,000 people were killed in motor vehicle accidents. If you are involved in a crash, it is important that you understand your legal rights.

What Is the Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Injury and Loss Claims in Florida?

In most cases, you have four years from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit to recover damages. There are exceptions to this rule that can lengthen or shorten the time. For instance, lawsuits filed against the government have a three-year deadline for filing. Read More

Personal Injury Protection: Is Your Florida a No-Fault State? If So, What Is the Threshold for Bringing an Auto Negligence Claim?

Florida is a no-fault insurance state. Every driver is required to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance that pays part of your medical bills and lost wages regardless of who causes the accident. If your damages are over the minimum PIP coverage of $10,000 you can file a lawsuit against the other driver. Read More

What Is Florida’s Minimum Automobile and Motorcycle Insurance Requirements?

The minimum automobile and motorcycle insurance coverage required in Florida is $10,000 for PIP coverage and PDL (property damage liability) coverage. However, you can choose to purchase addition coverage. Read More

Can Florida’s Comparative Negligence Laws Reduce My Compensation for a Car Accident?

Florida adopted a pure comparative negligence law in 1973. You can be 99 percent at fault for the collision and still recover compensation for your damages. Read More

Florida’s Seat Belt Defense in Car Accident Cases

Florida allows defendants to use the seat belt defense in car accident claims. Under Florida’s comparative negligence laws, the defendant can argue that you should not receive full compensation because you are partly at fault for your injuries because you were not wearing a seat belt. Read More

Is it Legal to Ride in The Back of a Pickup Truck in Florida?

Florida allows adults to ride in the back of a pickup truck. All children 18 years of age and under are prohibited by law to ride in the cargo area of a truck. There are a few limited exceptions such as in a medical emergency. Read More

Suing the Government in Florida for Road Hazard Car Accidents

You are permitted to sue the State of Florida or another government entity that is responsible for maintaining the road if road conditions cause your car accident. However, the rules for suing the government are very strict and different from suing a private party. Read More

Can Bicyclists in Florida Sue the Government for Road Hazard Accidents?

Bicyclists have the same rights as motorists; therefore, bicyclists can file lawsuits for road hazard accidents. You must prove the government was negligent and you must adhere to the strict rules of filing notice of your claim. Read More

When Do I Report a Car Accident in Florida?

Florida law requires you to report a car accident if the collision results in an injury or property damage of $500 or more. Calling 911 is the quickest and easiest way to report a car accident. Read More

How Do I Get a Copy of My Car Accident Report in Florida?

Crash reports can be obtained online from the Florida Highway Patrol. If a local police department responded to the accident, you might be able to request the report online, depending on the agency, or you may need to contact the office directly. Read More

Does Florida Have Special Driving Laws for Seniors?

The highest percentage of drivers over the age of 65 years live in Florida. Florida instituted several rules for mature drivers, including a mandatory vision test for drivers 80 years of age and older. Other restrictions may be applied depending on the person’s circumstances. Read More

Does Florida have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, Florida uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is a three-stage system that in some states begins at age 15 and ends 12 to 24 months later with full driving privileges. Read More

Does Florida have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top laws that you need to know if you are driving in our state, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin