Florida Graduated Driver’s License System

Florida Graduated Driver’s License System

New drivers simply don’t have the skills and experience to protect themselves and their passengers from all the dangers of the road. To give teen drivers the time they need to develop safe and defensive driving skills, the state has implemented a three stage driver’s license program that begins at age 16 and ends at age 18.

Teens can take the written test for their 12-month learner’s permit at age 15. During this time, you are to accumulate 10 hours of night driving and 40 hours of driving experience while driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

After the year practice period, if you haven’t received any traffic convictions, and you are at least 16 years old, you can take the road test to get your intermediate license. While you have this restricted license, you can drive without supervision. However you are prohibited from driving unsupervised at night between 11 p.m., and 6 a.m. 17-year-old drivers cannot drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.

Florida is one of the rare states that doesn’t implement a passenger restriction on new drivers. Teens themselves are tasked with being responsible for themselves and their riders.

Be aware: Text messaging is banned for all drivers under secondary enforcement laws.

WordPress Lightbox Plugin