Idaho Accident Guide

Idaho Accident Guide

There was an 8.5 percent increase in motor vehicle crashes in Idaho from 2014 to 2015. During 2015, there were a total of 24,018 crashes that resulted in 216 death, a 16.1 percent increase from the previous year. On average, a traffic crash occurs every 21.9 minutes in the state. Because you can be involved in a traffic accident on any given day, it is important for you to understand your rights and obligations regarding traffic-related accidents.

How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim or Lawsuit in Idaho?

Idaho has a two-year statute of limitations for filing lawsuits related to traffic-related accidents. If you fail to file your lawsuit within that time, you may lose your right to receive compensation for your injuries.  There are very few and very limited exceptions to this rule. Read More

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance Coverage I Need to Purchase in Idaho to be Legal?

Idaho is a fault state; therefore, drivers are required to carry minimum liability insurance coverage. The minimum amount of coverage is $15,000 for the destruction of property and $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury. You can purchase addition coverage to protect yourself and your family. Read More

How Does Idaho’s Comparative Negligence Statute Impact Recovery in a Car Accident Lawsuit?

Idaho has adopted a modified version of comparative negligence as applied to car accidents. Under Idaho law, you lose your right to recover compensation if you are 51 percent or more at fault for the collision.  However, if your fault is lower than 51 percent, your compensation will be reduced by your percentage of fault. Read More

Is There a Maximum Compensation Rate for Car Accident Claims in Idaho?

Idaho law does not limit compensation for economic losses (i.e. lost wages and medical bills). However, your right to be compensated for non-economic losses, such as pain and suffering, is limited to $250,000. Read More

Idaho’s Safety Restraint Defense Law

Idaho has passed legislation allowing the safety restraint defense in car accident lawsuits. However, the law is very specific on when and how a defendant can use the defense. If a defendant is successful, your compensation can be reduced for failing to wear a safety restraint. Read More

Can I Ride in the Back of a Pickup Truck in Idaho?

At this time, there is not a law prohibiting someone from riding in the back of a pickup truck in Idaho. However, Idaho does have seat belt laws. Defendants in a car accident lawsuit could try to use the safety belt defense if you were riding in the back of a truck when you were injured. Read More

Can You Sue the Government in Idaho for Car Accidents Caused by Road Hazards?

Road hazards can be dangerous for drivers. If a road hazard causes your car accident, you may be able to sue the government entity responsible for maintaining the road. However, you must follow special rules for filing lawsuits against the government. Read More

Can You Sue the State of Idaho or Government Entity for a Bicycle Accident Caused by Road Debris?

Bicyclists have the right to sue the government for bicycle accidents caused by road debris. As with motorists, a bicyclist must follow special rules for lawsuits against government entities. Read More

Do I Need to File a Collision Report in Idaho?

The laws related to traffic accidents in Idaho require you to report a collision if it results in any bodily injury or property damage of $1,500 or more. Calling 911 is the quickest and easiest way to report a collision. Read More

How Do I Request a Copy of My Car Accident Report in Idaho?

You can access your car accident report online, or you can contact the Idaho State Police Patrol District closest to the accident scene. Copies of reports are downloadable from the internet for a small fee. Read More

Does Idaho have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, Idaho uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is a three-stage system that in some states begins at age 15 and ends 12 to 24 months later with full driving privileges. Read More

Does Idaho have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top laws that you need to know if you are driving in our state, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin