Kentucky Accident Guide

Kentucky Accident Guide

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet publishes a Traffic Collision Fact Book each year. The books are available on its website. According to the 2015 book, the total number of reported traffic accidents totaled 161,393, an almost seven percent increase from 2014. In 2015, 774 people died, a 13.8 percent increase from the previous year. Because you could be injured or lose a loved one in a car accident, you need to understand your legal rights for filing a claim.

What is the Statute of Limitations for Filing a Car Accident Lawsuit in Kentucky?

In most cases, you have two years from the date of the traffic accident or two years from the date of the last no-fault insurance payment to file your lawsuit, whichever date is later. However, there are exceptions to this rule that may lengthen or shorten the deadline to file a car accident lawsuit in Kentucky. Read more

What are the Minimum Insurance Requirements in Kentucky for Automobiles and Motorcycles?

All motor vehicles must be covered by liability insurance in the amount of $25,000 for personal injury per person and $50,000 personal injury coverage per incident. Property damage insurance of $10,000 is also required. By law, you must also have $10,000 in PIP coverage, but this is optional for motorcyclists. Read more

Does Kentucky Require Personal Injury Protection Insurance? Is it a No-Fault State?

Kentucky is a no-fault state; therefore, you are required to have PIP insurance. Therefore, the law imposes certain limitations on your ability to sue another driver. Read more

Is Kentucky a Pure Comparative Negligence State?

Yes, you can be partially at fault for the collision and still recover compensation. On the other hand, your compensation can be reduced if you are found to be partially at fault for the collision. Read more

When Can I Sue the Other Driver for Damages for a Kentucky Auto Accident?

Even though Kentucky is a no-fault insurance state, there are instances in which you can sue the other driver for damages. For instance, permanent injury is an exception to the limitation on the right to sue. Read more

What is Kentucky’s Seat Belt Defense?

Kentucky courts allow the seat belt defense for comparative negligence apportionment, but you cannot completely bar recovery based solely on failing to wear a seatbelt. Read more

Is It Legal to Ride in the Cargo Area of a Vehicle in Kentucky?

Kentucky does not have a specific law making it illegal to ride in the cargo area or the back of a pickup truck. However, Kentucky does have mandatory seat belt laws, and your compensation could be reduced under the comparative negligence law. Read more

Can I Sue the State of Kentucky for a Car Accident Caused by a Road Hazard?

Yes, you can sue the Commonwealth for road hazard accidents. However, you must first file your claim with a Board of Claims. Read more

Who Do I Sue If a Dangerous Road Condition caused my Bicycle Accident in Kentucky?

Bicyclists have the same right to sue the government for bicycle accidents caused by dangerous road conditions. Bicyclists are bound by the same rules and laws for suing the government as drivers. Read more

When Do I File a Collision Report for a Traffic Accident in Kentucky?

In most cases, you call 911 to report a traffic accident in Kentucky. If the police do not investigate, you are required to file a civilian report. Read more

How Do I Get a Copy of My Traffic Accident Report in Kentucky?

You can obtain a copy of the traffic accident report by contacting the law enforcement office who investigated your accident. However, it is easier and quicker to obtain the report online. Read more

WordPress Lightbox Plugin