Louisiana Accident Guide

Louisiana Accident Guide

The number of injuries and fatalities sustained in motor vehicle accidents increased in Louisiana from 2015 to 2016. Almost 82,000 people were injured and 757 people were killed in traffic-related crashes. With the high number of motor vehicle accidents in the state, it is important that you know your legal rights.

What Is the Louisiana Statute of Limitations for Car Accident Injury and Loss Claims?

Louisiana refers to the deadline to file a car accident lawsuit as a liberative prescription. Louisiana’s deadline is very short. You have only one year from the date of the accident to file your lawsuit. Read More

What Are the State Minimum Auto and Motorcycle Insurance Requirements in Louisiana?

Louisiana drivers are required to carry minimum liability insurance coverage to protect others if you cause a traffic accident. The minimum bodily injury coverage is $15,000 per person with a $30,000 maximum per accident. The property damage coverage is $25,000 per accident. Read More

What Are the Comparative Fault Laws for Louisiana?

Louisiana has adopted a comparative fault standard for determining negligence in a traffic accident. Under Louisiana law, each person involved in the accident is assigned a percentage of fault. Your compensation is based on the percentage of fault assigned to each party. Read More

Does Louisiana Cap the Compensation Amount a Car Accident Victim Can Receive for Damages?

With one exception, Louisiana does not cap compensation in traffic accident claims. If you were not at fault, you can recover 100 percent of your damages. The only cap on compensation relates to lawsuits filed against government agencies. Read More

Is the Safety Belt Defense Used in Louisiana Car Accident Lawsuits?

Louisiana does not allow the seat belt defense to be used in car accident lawsuits. The defendant cannot argue that you are partially at fault for your injuries because you were not wearing a safety belt. However, insurance adjusters may try to use this argument with people who are not familiar with the law. Read More

Can You Ride in the Cargo Area of a Truck in Louisiana?

Louisiana limits passengers in the cargo area of a truck by age and type of road. No one under the age of 12 is permitted to ride in the cargo area of a truck unless it is an emergency or the truck is in an authorized parade traveling at a slow speed. Read More

Can I Sue the Government for A Motor Vehicle Accident or Bicycle Accident Caused by Road Hazards in Louisiana?

Certain government agencies are responsible for maintaining safe roads. You can sue the state or a local agency if a road hazard causes your car accident or bicycle accident. However, there are special rules that you must follow or your claim can be denied. Read More

How Do You File a Car Accident Report in Louisiana?

Louisiana law requires that you report all car accidents that result in bodily injury or property damage of $100 or more. The quickest way is to call 911 to be connected with the correct law enforcement agency. The police officer who responds to the accident will file the report for you. Read More

How Do I Get a Copy of My Car Accident Report in Louisiana?

There are several ways to obtain a copy of your Louisiana car accident report. The Louisiana State Police (LSP) has an online option as does many city and county agencies. In some cases, you may need to contact the local law enforcement office in person to request a copy of the crash report. Read More

Louisiana Restrictions for Senior Drivers

Louisiana begins placing restrictions on drivers who are 70 years and older. For instance, mature drivers can only renew their driver’s licenses for four years and must pass a vision test each time they renew their license. Read More

Does Louisiana have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, Louisiana uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is a three-stage system that in some states begins at age 15 and ends 12 to 24 months later with full driving privileges. Read More

Does Louisiana have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top laws that you need to know if you are driving in our state, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin