New Jersey Accident Guide

New Jersey Accident Guide

According to the New Jersey Department of Transportation records, there were 264,582 crashes statewide. There were 60,431 crashes that resulted in injuries and 547 crashes that resulted in at least one fatality. Because you can be involved in a motor vehicle accident on any given day, it is important for you to know your legal rights.

New Jersey Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents

The deadline to file a car accident lawsuit in New Jersey is two years from the date of the car accident. There are limited exceptions to this rule, such as when the victim is a minor. Read More

New Jersey Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

New Jersey’s auto insurance requirements are different from other states. New Jersey allows drivers to choose between two different types of coverage, a Basic Policy and a Standard Policy. Both policies have pros and cons. Read More

New Jersey Personal Injury Protection

As with liability insurance, there are two different plans to choose from for PIP insurance coverage. A Basic Policy costs less but it offers less protection and options compared to the Standard Policy. Read More

New Jersey Comparative Negligence Laws

New Jersey uses a modified version of comparative negligence. You can be partially at fault for an accident and still recover some compensation. If you are less than half at fault, you can receive compensation, but it will be reduced by your percentage of fault. Read More

New Jersey Seatbelt Defense

New Jersey has a primary enforcement seatbelt law. New Jersey law permits a defendant to introduce evidence that the victim was not wearing a seatbelt. If successful, the victim’s compensation is reduced by a certain percentage for not wearing his seatbelt. Read More

Riding in the Cargo Area in New Jersey

The state prohibits passengers from riding in the cargo area of a vehicle with one exception. Even dogs are not permitted to ride in the bed of a pickup truck. However, employees can ride in the back of a truck. Read More

New Jersey Limited Tort Law

New Jersey has a verbal threshold law that restricts your ability to recover damages in a car accident lawsuit. This applies if you choose a certain type of insurance policy. Many people choose this policy because it is less expensive, but then they realize the verbal threshold is a huge negative. Read More

Filing and Requesting a NJ Accident Report

Drivers must report crashes if the property damage exceeds $500 or there is an injury. The law requires drivers to report the accident by the quickest means possible, but not later than 10 days after the collision. You can request a copy of the accident report from the law enforcement officer that responded to the scene. Read More

Claims Against NJ for Road Hazards

Drivers whose accident was caused by a road hazard can file a lawsuit against the state or other government entity. However, the rules are different. For example, you must file a notice of tort claim with the correct government agency within 90 days or lose your right to file a lawsuit. Read More

Bike Injury Claims Against NJ For Road Hazards

Bicyclists have the same right to file a lawsuit for road hazard accidents as motorists. The rider must follow the same rules including the requirement to file a notice of claim within 90 days. Read More

New Jersey Mature Driving Laws

New Jersey does not restrict a person’s driving privileges solely based on age. An interested person can file a request for a medical fitness review. Depending on the results of the review, the senior’s driving privileges can be revoked or restricted. Read More

Does New Jersey have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, New Jersey uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is a three-stage system that in some states begins at age 15 and ends 12 to 24 months later with full driving privileges. Read More

Does New Jersey have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top laws that you need to know if you are driving in our state, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin