Oklahoma Accident Guide

Oklahoma Accident Guide

About 199 crashes occurred every day in Oklahoma in 2015 leading to a total of more than 72,500 accidents for the year. More than 34,000 people were injured in those crashes, and another 590 died. Another 48,460 resulted in property damage. With so many accidents occurring across our state, it’s important to know the following laws and how they may affect your right to seek compensation for injuries and losses.

What is the Statute of Limitations for car accident injury and loss claims in Oklahoma?

You have two years from the date of the accident to file an injury or loss claim. However, claims made against the government must be filed sooner, and the clock may not start ticking on wrongful death claims until later. Read More

What are the comparative negligence laws in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma modified the comparative negligence system several years ago via tort reform and no longer recognizes joint and several. Currently, the law states that a plaintiff cannot be more than 50 percent at fault for an accident and still recover damages. Read More

Does Oklahoma cap compensation amounts?

Yes, there is a $350,000 cap on pain and suffering for all personal injury cases in Oklahoma. However, there is no cap on economic loss, no cap on wrongful death cases, and no cap on punitive damages. Read More

Can you bring injury claims against the government for motor vehicle accidents caused by road hazards?

Yes, however, under the Governmental Tort Claims Act, claims are subject to exceptions per Oklahoma Statute §51-155 which basically eliminates government responsibility unless negligence can be proven. Read More

Can bicyclists bring claims against the State of Oklahoma for poor road conditions or road hazards that lead to a bike crash injury?

Yes, however the same limitations and exceptions that apply to car accidents apply to bicycle crashes, i.e., you must prove negligence, and you have less time to do it. Read More

What are the Oklahoma minimum auto and motorcycle insurance requirements?

Cyclists and motor vehicle owners must all carry a minimum of 25/50 liability coverage.

$25,000 per person per accident

$50,000 per accident Read More

How do I file or request a collision report in Oklahoma?

Collision reports must be filed with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety if the accident resulted in injury, death, or more than $300 property damage. If police are called to the scene, they will file the report. You can request a copy of the report from Records Management Division of the Department of Public Safety, or from the law enforcement office where the accident report was filed. Read More

Does Oklahoma have special driving laws for senior operators?

Oklahoma believes that drivers should stay independent as long as possible, so we have tools and tests to ensure safety and class and courses for those who need to refresh or strengthen their driving skills. Read More

Does Oklahoma recognize the Safety Belt Defense?

Yes, evidence of non-compliance with the seat belt statute is evidence that a jury can use to find comparative fault by the plaintiff. Read More

Does Oklahoma have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, Oklahoma uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is a three-stage system that typically begins 15 and-a-half and ends with full driving privileges one year later. Read More

Does Oklahoma have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top 10 laws that you need to know if you are driving in Oklahoma, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin