Pennsylvania Accident Guide

Pennsylvania Accident Guide

Information provided by PennDOT states that 127,127 crashes were reported in Pennsylvania in 2015. During 2015, 1,200 people died and 80,004 people were injured in traffic-related accidents. On average, 15 crashes occur every hour somewhere in the state. Because you can be one of these statistics, it is important for your to understand your legal rights.

Pennsylvania’s Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents

Car accident lawsuits can only be filed for claims outside of the no-fault insurance parameters. For cases that can be filed, you have two years from the date of the accident to file your lawsuit. Read More

Pennsylvania State Insurance Minimums

Pennsylvania has a hybrid of no-fault and fault insurance coverage. Even though Pennsylvania has a Personal Injury Protection insurance requirements, drivers are still required to have minimum liability insurance. The minimum amounts are $15,000 for injury to one person, $30,000 for bodily injury per incident, and $5,000 for damage to personal property. Read More

Pennsylvania Personal Injury Protection and Injury Thresholds

Drivers are required to have a minimum of $5,000 in PIP coverage. PIP insurance pays your medical expenses after a car accident, regardless of which driver caused the collision. In cases where expenses exceed PIP coverage, the person can sue the at-fault driver for compensation. Read More

Pennsylvania Compensation Caps

Pennsylvania does not place a cap on compensation in car accident lawsuits with one exception. Any judgment against the Commonwealth, its agency, or entity is capped at $25,000 per person and $1,000,000 per accident. Claims against a local government entity are capped at $500,000. Read More

Pennsylvania Comparative Negligence Laws

Before 1976, Pennsylvania had a contributory negligence law. Today, the state operates under the legal theory of modified comparative negligence. You must be less than 51 percent at fault to recover damages in a car accident, but you can be partially at fault and still receive money for your claim. Read More

Pennsylvania Limited Tort Laws

Pennsylvania allows drivers to choose between full tort insurance coverage and limited tort insurance coverage. Full tort insurance coverage does not place restrictions on suing another driver for damages. If you choose limited coverage, your ability to sue an at-fault driver for damages could be restricted. Read More

Claims Against Pennsylvania for Road Hazards

Drivers or passengers injured in a wreck caused by a road hazard may file a lawsuit against the government entity responsible for the road. However, you must act quickly. Failing to file a notice of claim within six months from the date of your accident results in a dismissal of your lawsuit. Read More

Claims Against Pennsylvania for Bicyclist Road Hazards

Bicyclists who are injured in a road hazard bicycle accident can also file a lawsuit against the state or a local municipality. However, the biker must follow the same strict rules for suing a government entity. Read More

Pennsylvania Mature Driving laws

Pennsylvania has some rules that apply to mature drivers. For example, PennDOT randomly selects 1,900 drivers over the age of 45 years each month who must have a vision and physical test to renew their driver’s license. The Medically Impaired Driver Law requires medical professionals to file a report for any person, regardless of age, that has a condition which impairs driving ability. Read More

Does Pennsylvania have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, our state uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is typically a three-stage system that in some states begins at age 15 and ends 12 to 24 months later with full driving privileges. Read More

Does Pennsylvania have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top laws that you need to know if you are driving in our state, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin