Texas Accident Guide

Texas Accident Guide

The Texas Department of Transportation reports that one person was killed very two and half hours in motor vehicle accidents in 2015. One person was injured in traffic-related accidents every 2.8 minutes that year. Over 246,300 people were injured and 3,531 people were killed in traffic accidents in 2015. Because you could become one of those statistics, you need to learn about your legal rights regarding car accidents in Texas.

What Is the Statute of Limitations for Car Crash Injury and Loss Claims in Texas?

If you are injured in a car accident, you have two years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit for damages. While there are a few, very limited, exceptions to this general rule, it is best to file your claim as soon as possible. Read More

What is the Texas Minimum Auto and Motorcycle Insurance Requirements?

Texas is a fault insurance state. Therefore, you must have minimum liability insurance to drive legally in the state. The current requirements are $30,000 for injury to one person, $60,000 for injury to multiple persons, and $25,000 to pay for property damage. You can purchase additional amounts if you desire. Read More

Personal Injury Protection: Is Texas a No-Fault State?

Because Texas is a fault insurance state, it does not require Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. However, an insurance agent must offer PIP coverage when it sells an insurance policy. Drivers can decline the coverage, accept the coverage, or purchase a higher amount. Read More

Does Texas Recognize Mini-Tort, Full-Tort, Or Limited Tort Law for Car Accident Personal Injury Claims?

Texas is a full tort state for car accident claims. In the liability based tort system, each driver must carry liability auto insurance. If a driver is at fault for a collision, he can be sued for damages. Read More

Does Texas Cap Compensation Amounts?

With few exceptions, Texas does not place a cap on compensation amounts in a car accident lawsuit against a private party for damages. Exceptions exist for lawsuits filed against government entities, lawsuits asking for punitive damages, and lawsuits for medical malpractice. Read More

What Are the Comparative Negligence Laws for Your State?

Texas has adopted a modified comparative negligence standard based on the 51-Percent Rule. If you are 51 percent or more at fault for the collision, you cannot receive compensation from the other driver. However, if you contributed to the accident but your fault is below 50 percent, you can recover compensation for your damages. Read More

Does Texas Recognize The 'Safety Belt Defense,' Where Damages Are Reduced If You Aren't Wearing a Seat Belt at The Time of The Accident?

Texas has a modified safety belt defense law. While the defendant can introduce evidence you were not wearing a seatbelt, this evidence cannot work to bar you from recovering under comparative negligence laws completely. Your compensation can be reduced by the percentage of fault assigned for not wearing a seatbelt. Read More

What Are the Laws in Texas Regarding Passengers Riding in Vehicle Cargo Areas?

Texas does not have a complete ban on passengers riding a vehicle’s cargo area. Anyone over the age of 18 years can legally ride in the back of a truck. However, in an accident, riding in the back of a truck can reduce the amount of compensation you can receive for your injuries. Read More

Can Clients Bring Injury Claims Against the Government for Motor Vehicle Accidents Caused by Road Hazards in Texas?

You can file a car accident lawsuit for crashes caused by road hazards; however, you must get past the government’s sovereign immunity to recover damages. While sovereign immunity may be waived for road hazard accidents, you still must prove negligence. Furthermore, there are special rules that apply to lawsuits against the government. Read More

Can Bicyclists Bring Claims Against the Government for Poor Road Conditions or Road Hazards Leading to A Bike Crash Injury?

Bicyclists have the same right to sue the government for crashes caused by road hazards. However, bicyclists have the same problem with proving negligence and following special rules regarding lawsuits against a government entity. Read More

How to File and Request a Collision Report in Texas?

If a police officer does not respond to the accident scene to file a collision report, the law requires drivers to file a report with the Texas DOT. Reports must be filed for cases involving injury, death, or property damage exceeding $1,000. Read More

Texas Mature Driving Laws

Drivers under the age of 79 can renew their driver’s license in one of several ways. However, individuals who are 79 years of age or older must appear in person to renew their driver’s license. For drivers over the age of 85 years, their driver’s license is issued for a shorter period. In addition, any driver may be required to submit to additional testing to verify ability to drive without impairment. Read More

Does Texas have special rules for teens and new drivers?

Yes, Texas uses the Graduated Driver’s License system to prepare new drivers for the road. This is a three-stage system that in some states begins at age 15 and ends 12 to 24 months later with full driving privileges. Read More

Does Texas have traffic laws that differ from its neighboring states?

Yes, in fact there we have compiled the top laws that you need to know if you are driving in our state, including seat-belt rules, helmet laws, work zone violation penalties and rules regarding cell phones. Read More

What evidence should I gather if I am in a car accident?

Our printable Accident Checklist will detail what information you should collect from and give to those involved in the accident. It will help keep all the details of your accident clear and concise and build the best case possible. Read More

WordPress Lightbox Plugin