Ohio Insurance Requirements for Drivers and Riders
Ohio requires that you have proof of insurance, otherwise known as financial responsibility, for each vehicle you drive, whether it’s your vehicle or it belongs to someone else. There are two ways to prove your financial responsibility, either through auto insurance or surety bond.
Our state also requires that any motor vehicle you drive, including motorcycles, are covered by an insurance policy that has at least the minimum coverage of 25/50/25 –
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage if one person is injured
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage if more than one person is hurt
- $25,000 in property damage coverage
If you choose, you can post collateral or get a bond instead of getting auto insurance. Ohio allows you to do this provided you obtain a certificate from the BMV indicating that money, collateral, or bond is on deposit with the Treasurer of Ohio in the amount of $30,000.
The minimum insurance amounts will cover injuries and property damage from accidents you cause. However, if the costs of injury or damage repair is more than the coverage amount of your policy, you may be personally responsible for the remainder of any medical expenses, vehicle or property repair costs, as well as any legal or court fees incurred because of the accident. If you don’t have the money to pay for these damages, your home and car can be taken and your wages garnished until the costs are paid in full.
Understanding Your Policy
Insurance policies generally provide several types of coverage including
- Collision – pays for damage to your own vehicle if you collide with something
- Comprehensive – pays for non-accident damage to your vehicles, such as by hail, theft, and fire
- Bodily Injury – pays the medical costs for persons injured in a crash caused by you
- Property damage – pays to repair damage done to property
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist – pays for damages caused to you by a driver who isn’t insured or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your injuries or damages
In Ohio, if you don’t have the title to your vehicle because you haven’t paid it off yet, you will be required to carry full coverage with collision, comprehensive, bodily injury, and property damage coverage. If you own your vehicle, you are required by law to carry liability insurance with 25/50/25 bodily injury and property damage coverage.