Texting is banned in Colorado for all drivers. Cell phone use is banned for drivers under age 18.
Children under 12 months and 20 pounds are to be secured in a rear-facing child seat in the back seat and children up to 3 years and weighing between 20 and 40 pounds are to be in a child safety seat. Children aged 4 to 7 years are to be secured in a booster seat. Adult safety seats are permissible for children aged eight years and older. The maximum fine for a first offense is $82.00
Drunk driving laws require a 3-month license suspension upon a first offense. Penalties are increased for drivers with a BAC of .17 or more. Colorado has open container laws as well as repeat offender laws. Ignition interlock devices are highly incentivized for all convictions.
The state enforces a graduated driver’s license program that starts at age 15 if the driver has completed driver’s ed; age 15-and-a-half with a driver’s awareness program; or age 16 without a training course. Novice drivers must hold their permit for 12 months, then can test for a restricted intermediate license and can get a non-restricted license at age 17.
All Motorcycle riders (operators and passengers) aged 18 or younger must wear a helmet.
Mature drivers are required to renew their license every five years if they are aged 61 or older. At age 66, drivers can not renew their license electronically, though they can renew by mail if they have passed a vision exam within the previous six months.
Seat belts are required for all front-seat occupants and failing to do so carries a maximum fine of $71.00 for a first-offense.
The state conducts sobriety checkpoints several times a month.
The penalties for any traffic violation will be doubled in work zones, even if workers and signs are not present.
Speed and red light cameras are used in Colorado. Speed cameras are used in school and construction zones, residential areas, and areas adjacent to municipal parks. Red light cameras are used statewide. Images of tags and drivers are taken, and citations are issued to vehicle owners. Camera-caught speeding violators are fined $40. The penalty for red-light violations is $75.00.