California bans drivers from all cell phone use including texting while driving under primary enforcement laws.
Child passengers aged two and under, weighing under 40 pounds, and being less than 40 inches tall must be secured in a rear-facing safety seat in the rear seat. Adult seat belts are permissible for children aged 8 to 15, who are taller than 57 inches. The maximum fine for a first offense is $100 plus points.
California has no specific drugged-driving laws, and marijuana has been decriminalized and is legal for medical use.
Drunk-driving laws require your vehicle to be impounded or confiscated, and your license to be suspended for four months for a first offense. Ignition interlocks are mandatory in Alameda, Tulare, Los Angeles, and Sacramento counties.
Teen drivers have to complete a three-stage Graduated Driver Licensing system before given full driving privileges. You can take your permit test at age 15 years and six months, your road test at age 16, and are eligible for your full, non-restricted license at age 17.
A Universal Helmet Law was passed in 1992 requiring that all motorcycle rider wear a helmet, and all bicyclists under the age of 18 wear a helmet.
Mature drivers must renew their license every five years. However, driver’s aged 70 and over cannot renew by mail.
Seat belt use is primary enforced, and seat belts must be worn by all passengers aged 16 or younger in all seats. The maximum fine for a first offense is $162.
California conducts more than 2500 sobriety checkpoints across the state every year.
The maximum speed limit for trucks on all interstates and roadways is 55 mph. The maximum speed for passenger vehicles is 70 mph on rural interstates and limited access roads and 65 mph on urban intersections.
Red light and rail crossing cameras are used statewide and take images of the vehicle tag and driver. The citation for $490 is issued to the registered owner of the vehicle, or the driver, if they can be identified.
When workers or work signs are present in a work zone, any penalties for traffic violations are enhanced to double the amount of the original fine.