Understanding the Kansas Graduated Driver’s Licensing Program
To help give young drivers additional time to gain the experience and defensive driving skills needed to be safe on the road, Kansas has implemented a three-phase program for teens that begins at age 14 and ends age 16-and-a-half. While many states are using the Graduated Driver’s License program, not all states have implemented the same rules, so drivers in Oklahoma or another neighboring state may get their privileges sooner or later than those in Kansas. To make it easy to understand the state’s specific laws, we provide this handy guide.
Teens take the vision and written test for their learner’s permit starting at age 14. While driving on a permit, you must be supervised by a licensed driver over the age of 21 any time you are behind the wheel. You will hold your permit for 12 months, during which time you must gain at least 50 hours of supervised road experience, with 10 of those hours being driven at night. You will also use this time to complete a state-approved driver’s education course before you can apply for your intermediate license.
At age 15, you are eligible for your intermediate license, which you will hold until you are 16-and-a-half. While driving on this restricted license, you are prohibited from driving between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless you are supervised. You are also banned from having more than more than one passenger who is younger than 18 unless they are an immediate family member.
At age 16-and-a-half, you are eligible for full driving privileges with an unrestricted license.
Be aware, you are banned from cell phone use while you are driving on a restricted license and this is enforced under primary enforcement laws, meaning a police officer can pull you over if they see you on your phone. Text messaging is also banned for all drivers.
Also under primary enforcement, passengers who are between 14 and 17 years must wear their seatbelt in all seats, while those who are 18 must be restrained in the front seat.