Utah Accident Guide

Utah Accident Guide

The five leading causes of traffic-related deaths in Utah are excessive speed, unrestrained occupants, drunk drivers, failure to yield the right of way accidents, and distracted drivers. During 2015, there were 60,012 traffic-related crashes. Injury crashes totaled 17,665, and there were 258 fatal crashes. Because you can be involved in a traffic accident at any time, it is important that you know your legal rights.

How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Lawsuit in Utah?

The statute of limitations for a Utah car accident lawsuit is generally four years from the date of the accident. However, there are several exceptions to this general rule. Read more

What are the State Minimum Motor Vehicle Insurance Requirements?

Utah requires every driver to have minimum liability insurance in the amount of $25,000 for bodily injury ($65,000 per accident) and $15,000 for property damage.  As part of the minimum coverage, each driver must have PIP insurance in the amount of $3,000. Read more

What is Utah’s Comparative Negligence Laws?

Utah has adopted a modified comparative negligence standard for car accidents.  If a driver is partially at fault, the compensation he or she receives is decreased by the percentage of fault assigned to the driver for the collision. Read more

Can I Ride in the Back of a Pickup Truck in Utah?

Utah prohibits anyone from riding in an area not intended for passengers, such as the bed of a truck.  However, there are some exceptions to this law. Read more

Can You Sue the Government in Utah for Car Accidents Caused by Road Hazards?

When a dangerous road condition or road hazard causes an accident, you can sue the government entity responsible for maintaining the road.  However, there are special rules for filing a lawsuit against the government in Utah. Read more

Can I Sue the State of Utah for a Bicycle Accident Caused by Dangerous Road Conditions?

Bicyclists enjoy the same rights as motorists, such as the right to a safe road free from road hazards. Therefore, bicyclists can file a lawsuit against the government for road hazard accident, but they are bound by the same rules for those lawsuits as motorists. Read more

When Am I Required to Report a Car Accident in Utah?

Utah law requires that all drivers report an accident by the quickest means possible if the collision resulted in bodily injury, death, or property damage of $1,500 or more. The best way to report the crash is to call 911.  Read more

How Do I Get a Copy of the Crash Report for My Motor Vehicle Accident?

There are several ways you can obtain a copy of a car accident report in Utah. You can use the online portals or mail a request form. You can also request the copy in person. Read more

What Do I Do If I Am In An Accident in Utah?

It can be difficult to know exactly what to do after being in an accident. We have created a guide that you can print and store in your glove box that will help you through not only the first steps after an accident but will also help you gather information and evidence for your claims. Read more

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

WordPress Lightbox Plugin