What Is the Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents in Connecticut?
Connecticut has adopted an at-fault system for car accident claims. In an at-fault system, an injured party can assert a claim by filing a lawsuit against the driver or another party who caused the collision. However, the time to file a car accident lawsuit is limited in Connecticut by its Statute of Limitations.
According to Connecticut General Statute §52-584, the limitations for filing a car accident lawsuit is two years from the date of the accident. The two-year limit includes claims for personal injury and injury to property. While there are some limited exceptions to the general rule, you don’t want to rely on these exceptions.
Your Delay Could Cost You Money!
Two years may seem like a long time to file a personal injury lawsuit. However, two years can go by very quickly when you are focused on recovering from your injuries and getting your life back. Waiting too long to contact an attorney may damage your claim. By contacting us as quickly as possible, you allow our attorneys more time to investigate and gather evidence for your claim. This often results in a stronger claim and a higher recovery.
Exceptions to the Statute of Limitations for Accident Lawsuits
As mentioned above, there are very limited exceptions to the two-year restriction on filing a personal injury lawsuit for traffic accidents. Some of the exceptions include:
- Filing a lawsuit against an entity that sold or provided alcohol to a drunk driver is limited to one year after the DUI accident. You are required to provide notice of your intent to file a claim or lawsuit to the entity that sold or provided the alcohol to the intoxicated person within 120 to 180 days of the DUI accident. Our attorneys research the facts to determine the correct date, so you don’t lose your right to sue this entity by failing to send a notice or lawsuit before the deadline.
- In some limited cases, the deadline to file a lawsuit may be extended if you were unaware of the injury at the time of the accident. It may also be possible to have an extension under the doctrine of “continuing course of conduct” or “continuous treatment.” These exceptions can be very difficult to prove; therefore, it is best to bring any action regarding an injury claim before the two years expires.
- Unlike many states, Connecticut does NOT extend the deadline to file a lawsuit when a minor is the injury victim. In many states, the statute is “tolled” or stopped until the minor reaches the age of 18 years. Connecticut has a few reasons to toll the statute but few.
Because the law regarding deadlines and exceptions can be confusing and complex, we urge you to contact us as soon as possible to avoid a situation where you might jeopardize your right to receive compensation for your injuries.
Most Cases Are Settled Without a Lawsuit
Most injury claims are settled without filing a lawsuit. The insurance company for the at-fault driver agrees to pay a fair settlement for your damages. Damages that you may receive compensation for in an accident claim include:
- Property damage
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Physical pain and emotional suffering
- Scarring, disability, and disfigurement
- Long-term personal care
- Funeral and burial expenses, in the event of a wrongful death
Don’t let the insurance company get out of paying you the compensation you deserve because you wait too long to contact an attorney about filing a lawsuit.