What You Need to Know About the Mississippi GDL Program

What You Need to Know About the Mississippi GDL Program

The Graduated Driver’s License program is designed to give new drivers extra time to develop defensive skills and a deeper understanding of the responsibility and obligation they have to their passengers, the public, and to the state. The program begins when the teen turns 14 or 15 and ends with full privileges at age 16 years and six months.

Teens enrolled in driver’s education can apply for their learner’s permit at age 14. Those teens not enrolled in a driving program must wait until they are 15 to apply. Drivers with a learner’s permit must be supervised any time they are behind the wheel.

After holding the permit for 12 months and turning 16, the new driver is eligible for the intermediate license. This restricted license must be held for six months, during which time the driver is not allowed to drive unsupervised at night between the hours of 11:30 p.m. and 6 a.m. on Friday and Saturday nights and Thursday to Sunday between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 6 a.m.

When the teen is age 16 years and six months, after holding the restricted license for six months, they can get their unrestricted license.

Teens aged 17 or older are able to get their license without completing the GDL program.

WARNING - Texting is banned in the state of Mississippi for all drivers under primary enforcement laws, which means that if a driver is seen texting, police can pull them over for that reason only.

Drivers under the age of 21 are held to a higher standard than some other drivers, including where alcohol is concerned. If a minor driver has a blood alcohol concentration of .02 or higher, they can be charged with drunk driving, and their license suspended for 90-days. If the driver refuses to take the chemical test, their license will be suspended for 90-days. Ignition interlock devices are required for all drunk driving convictions.

WordPress Lightbox Plugin