What You Need to Know About the Rhode Island Graduated Driver’s License Program
Rhode Island has adopted the three-stage licensing program recommended by safety experts. The Graduated Driver’s License program gives you more time to learn how to drive safely and responsibly on public roadways before giving you unrestricted access. The state requires those under the age of 18 take a 33-hour driver’s education course.
You can take the written test for the learner’s permit when you are 16. While you have instructional permit you can only practice driving when you have a supervisor in the passenger seat beside you. This person must be at least 21 and have had a license for five or more years. You will have the permit for at least six months while you complete at least 50 hours of practice driving with ten of hours being driven after sunset.
At age 16 years and six months, you can get your intermediate license if you have –
- Fulfilled the driving requirements
- Pass the road test
- No moving violations or seatbelt violations in the previous six months
While driving on with the intermediate license you are banned from driving between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. and can only have one passenger under the age of 21 in the vehicle, unless your driving supervisor is in the passenger seat beside you or the passengers are immediate family members.
When you are 17-and-a-half, after having the intermediate license for one year, you are eligible for an unrestricted license provided that you have no traffic violations in the previous six months.
Be aware that you and your passengers must wear seatbelts every time you travel. Rhode Island also has strict drinking laws, and any driver under 21 may lose their license for at least six months if they drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 or higher.