What You Should Know About the New Hampshire GDL Program
The Graduated Driver’s License program is a multi-stage system that gradually increases the road privileges given to young, new drivers. Most states have adopted a three-stage system; however New Hampshire does not require the first-stage Learner’s Permit.
You are eligible for a Youth Operators License when you are 16 years old provided you have completed a state-approved driver instruction course that includes:
- 6 hours of driving observation
- 30 hours of instruction
- 10 hours of driving experience
You also need to accumulate 40 hours or more of supervised driving practice with your parent, guardian, or licensed driver age 25 or older. At least 10 hours must be driven at night. You can begin supervised driving six months after your 15th birthday.
You must carry proof of your age with you at all times while you are practicing, and your supervisor must be sitting in the front passenger seat.
When you apply for the Youth License at age 16, you will need to take a vision, knowledge, and road test. You will hold this license until you are 21 years old. During this time, you are prohibited from driving at night between the hours of 1 a.m. and 4 a.m. You are also not allowed to carry more passengers than the vehicle has seatbelts, and for the first six months of getting the license, you may not have more than one passenger who is younger than 25 unless they are your immediate family, or you have a licensed supervisor over age 25.
Be aware that if you drive during the restricted hours, or you disobey the passenger rules, you can be fined up to $100, and your license revoked for up to 30 days. Subsequent offenses are penalized with a $200 fine and a license suspension of up to 90 days. You will be required to have SR-22 Insurance for three years if you get two or more speeding tickets during the first two years of getting your Youth License.
On your 21st birthday, the Youth License expires and you are eligible for a non-restricted license with full privileges.